Understanding

Something has been ticking me off all week until today.  This guy I work with, sit next to actually, went on a prescription of diet pills on Monday.  As soon as I heard this I had to ask another co-worker to make sure I settle down and don’t say anything stupid.  In my head at the time I was thinking that this is not the way to lose weight.  I’ve had a supervisor that has tried the stomach band surgery which failed.  I’ve had other friends who tried prescriptions which failed.  I’ve seen so many bloggers who were going to try this shortcut, that shortcut because they had 3 months to lose 80 pounds.  Those blogs stopped around week 2 if not before.  What seems to work best is watch what you eat, how much you eat, and you have to work your body into a fat burning machine with exercise.  I understand that there are circumstances where it’s not that easy but this guy was not in unreasonable shape.  (Sidenote:  I am having a self-perception problem with how much I weigh versus what others weigh.  I have in my mind that I weigh more than someone who weighs 20 – 30 lbs more than me.  Weird but great problem)  Anywho, I finally calmed down today and asked him about it.  He talked about his family history of heart disease and how the doctors were very concerned about his high blood pressure.  I mentioned that I was concerned about him learning to live his diet rather than following orders as well as incorporating some exercise.  It turns out he is looking forward to getting back into exercise and it became a pleasant conversation.  It sounds like he has a great support system and I will be excited for him as the pounds come off for him.  Am I still a little bitter that he’s ‘cheating’ versus doing it the way I consider to be right?  Well, why am I asking that question in the first place?  But I will support him and talk with him if he ever needs to.

This brings up another point.  My body.  I am so grateful that I’ve been given this strong healthy body even though I haven’t taken care of it over the last 15 years.  My joints and muscles are strong.  I never had diabetes, high blood pressure or cholesterol.   I wasn’t on any medication and the doctors said I was in general good health.  If I didn’t change I’m sure the problems would have come up soon.  But now as I continue to push myself in exercising I am amazed with how much my body can take, how much it has left to give.  I don’t know why God has been so gracious to me but I’m thankful and plan to take care of this body to the best of my ability.  It’s been so long since I’ve felt this good, this strong and can’t wait to see what else is in store as the pounds slowly keep coming off.

Now to go beat the crap out of the exercise bike!

2 thoughts on “Understanding

  1. underneathsarah

    So true! I have a friend who is using pills to try and win an office “Biggest Loser” contest. I tried to explain to him that not only do they not work, but they can be dangerous.

    Anyway, I added you to my blogroll and revamped my blog! Keep up the great posts, and thanks for your comment the other day! 🙂

    -Sarah
    http://underneathsarah.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  2. South Beach Steve

    Ehren, I also get a little frustrated at people who choose the easy way out. The big problem I have with this is that it doesn’t ever allow the person to learn what it takes to live healthy. It is the fast food approach to weight loss. Just like fast food doesn’t nourish our bodies, fast dieting doesn’t prepare us for healthiness. Of course, it also begs the question, what are the pills doing to the body? I guess it is not really my place to judge another, which is a personal challenge I have to deal with regularly, but I don’t feel like those taking the easy way out are ultimately going to benefit from it.

    I feel like I am talking in circles – time to get off the soap box.

    Reply

Leave a comment